Skip to content

About Us

The Wayne County News has been in continuous operation since 1890, making it one of the oldest businesses in Wayne County, Mississippi.

The Hurt Family owned and operated the newspaper for a number of years, eventually selling it to Jeff Mosely. He, in turn, sold it to American Publishing, which sold it to Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc.

In January 2004, Bolton Publications, a family-owned newspaper company, purchased The Wayne County News.

On March 31, 2016, Keane Media, Inc., — solely owned by Paul and Doris Keane — purchased the paper from Bolton Publications, moving ownership of the paper back to 100% local for the first time since 2000. Local, family management has made the newspaper a more viable and vital part of the community.

The paper is published every Thursday and delivered by mail and available for individual purchase at various businesses throughout the county and surrounding area.

Since 2005, the paper has won a total of 350 MPA Awards in Editorial and Advertising, including 105 first place honors. The paper has been named the best weekly newspaper in its division four times — 2004, 2005, 2011 and 2018. It has also finished second in that category two other times and third two other times.

Members of the staff are heavily and actively involved in the community, from church events, civic organizations and youth sports. The staff lives here, with many of them being long-time residents of Wayne County.

Locally operated by people that you see on a daily basis has made The Wayne County News one of the premier weekly newspapers in the state, along with a vital part of the growth of the community. In the future, plans are to expand and grow and to develop even more programs and services for Wayne County and its residents.

Wayne County News Publishers through the years:

W. Harvey Hurt (1921-1969)
W. Harvey Hurt, Jr. (1969-1989)
Jeff Mosley (1989-2000)
Tracey Smith (2000-2001)
Scott Bourns (2002-2003)
Ruth Bryant (2003-2004)
Paul Keane (2004-2006)
Lee Peacock (2006-2007)
Paul Keane (2007)